About Peralta Community College District

Founded in 1964, the Peralta Community College District (PCCD) is a collaborative community of colleges comprised of Berkeley City College, College of Alameda, Laney College, and Merritt College in northern Alameda County. The Peralta Colleges provide a dynamic, multicultural learning environment offering accessible, high-quality educational programs and services, including two-year degrees, certificates, and university transfer programs, to approximately 30,000 students per year.

Our Mission

The Peralta Community College District is a collaborative of colleges advancing social and economic transformation for students and the community through quality education, rooted in equity, social justice, environmental sustainability, and partnerships.

To view our values and principles, visit our full mission page.